RIP Don Hickman

The broadcasting world has lost a legend:

http://www.sj-r.com/top-stories/x45853030/Former-Channel-20-anchor-Hickman-dies

From the article:

Don Hickman, whose nearly three decades as news anchor at WICS Channel 20 made him one of Springfield’s most recognizable people, died Saturday.

Hickman, 74, died at St. John’s Hospital of natural causes, according to the Sangamon County coroner’s office.

I grew up watching Don anchor the evening news on WICS, along with Susan Finzen. I always enjoyed watching him deliver the news and appreciated the ‘character’ he infused into the newscasts.

I had the opportunity to work with Don when I was hired at WICS as a photographer (my first job out of college) in the late 1990s. For someone who had studied to be a broadcaster, it was really cool to be able to get to meet and also work with someone I’d spent most of my life watching on television – at my first stop in my career, no less.

Don was quite a storyteller. Whether it was through his ‘Don Hickman Journal’ pieces or through the tales he would tell in his office, he always commanded an audience.

I feel fortunate to have been able to work with someone who was so knowledgeable. It was a real pleasure having the chance to talk with Don while he still worked in television. It was great to have the chance to learn a few things from a living legend of broadcasting as well.

May he rest in peace.

Comments

