I’ve got it (not so much)

This one can be tough for all of us.

Proverbs 3

5 Trust in the LORD with all your heart 
And do not lean on your own understanding. 
6 In all your ways acknowledge Him, 
And He will make your paths straight. 

I mean, after all we are all human beings…we know everything! Right? I certainly think I do from time to time 🙂

And so, despite the fact that I have entered into a relationship with the LORD, I sure have a way of forgetting that He is in charge sometimes.

Simple stuff. Big stuff. Stuff in the middle. I’ve got it, I’ve got it…well, no actually. I don’t.

It’s the ‘convincing myself that I don’t really have it’ part which can be difficult. This verse reminds me that it isn’t my show and it isn’t my understanding (as the verse puts it) that is the end-all, be-all of wisdom.

I need to remember to look to the LORD more and rely on my own perception of things less. It’s proven itself over and over again for me. It really can be the simplest thing, and I’ll stop for a second and think, ‘Oh yeah! It’s right here. Samsonite…I was WAY off.

Spending a little more time seeking the truth from God always seems to get me further along in my pursuits as well as when it comes to resolving conflicts, particularly the internal kind.

It’s that peace of mind in knowing that I don’t have to know it all or struggle with every little thing that has made life so much more manageable for me these days.

It all boils down to the first word in the verse: Trust. Do I trust God? I say that I do. I feel in my heart that I do. I just don’t always put it into practice and to be honest, I feel pretty silly afterwards when it’s so intuitively obvious that He was right all along while I was bumbling along trying to wrap my head around things using my own logic. (I may not seem all that macho on the exterior but those who really know me will tell you I can be one prideful, stubborn, über knowledgeable-seeming pain in the rear end at times!)

Anyway I just wanted to share this verse today. It helps me. Hope it helps someone else out there too.

Have a great day everyone.

3 thoughts on “I’ve got it (not so much)”

Comments

