Computer Vision Syndrome

Image by ShaneRobinson via Flickr

Ever heard of this? I hadn’t until today. It made me wonder how many people experience this in some form.

From the American Optometric Association’s website:

Computer Vision Syndrome describes a group of eye and vision-related problems that result from prolonged computer use. Many individuals experience eye discomfort and vision problems when viewing a computer screen for extended periods. The level of discomfort appears to increase with the amount of computer use.

The most common symptoms associated with Computer Vision Syndrome (CVS) are

  • eyestrain
  • headaches
  • blurred vision
  • dry eyes
  • neck and shoulder pain

These symptoms may be caused by:

  • poor lighting
  • glare on the computer screen
  • improper viewing distances
  • poor seating posture
  • uncorrected vision problems
  • a combination of these factors

I’m no expert but I would guess this is becoming more prevalent in our society. I mean we all use computers virtually non-stop, right? Ok, well…some of us do at least.

Regardless of how much you use them, computers are obviously a part of everyday life for a very large number of people. I would assume that our eyes can only take so much.

I’m debating if I experience this. I get the blurred vision thing  occasionally. Generally this happens after I’ve been looking at a computer screen for a long time. According to the information on the website, taking breaks from the computer can help with that. Makes sense. I may have to try it sometime 🙂

So I’m curious, have you ever experienced these symptoms? Perhaps you already know you have CVS? I’d love to hear what you have to say. Please comment below if you have something to share on this topic.

Thanks and have a great day everyone.

One thought on “Computer Vision Syndrome”

Comments

