No bin Laden Photos

Good call, Mr. President.

This commentary sums up my thoughts pretty well: http://www.chicagotribune.com/news/opinion/chapman/chi-osama-bin-laden-photos-20110504,0,4072435.story

As the author states at the end, “If conspiracy theorists choose to make the case that he’s alive, I wish them luck.”

I’d agree with that statement but more than that, I just don’t see any benefit to releasing these photos. It’s not a good idea.

The whole thing about ‘proving it’ to those who refuse to believe it or say they need to see the photos for whatever reason does not outweigh the potential backlash that could (and likely would) follow the distribution of what are no doubt some very gruesome images.

I know many will disagree with me on this, and it is certainly your right to do so. I welcome your comments.

I feel this was the right decision though and I’m glad those photos are not circulating all over the world right now. Hopefully it stays that way.

Comments

