Another Halloween is in the books…

…and the candy industry is alive and well! Seriously, if anyone knows the amount of candy given out nationwide on Halloween I’d like to know what that is. Man, the dentists have to love November checkups. Talk about hitting the jackpot.

It really is amazing to me how much candy kids get (and then subsequently eat) every year for Halloween. I remember getting home and then immediately dumping out the entire night’s contents on the living room floor with my sister when I was a kid. Of course then there was the obligatory ‘Mine are better’ taunting that would ensue. Plus, some wheeling and dealing between us to secure what we felt was the very best candy that the neighborhood had to offer that night. We hit it hard. We ate a lot of candy. Really I’m just glad to still have teeth after all of that.

Which brings me to the present day and my children. They scored big time this week. First, my youngest son brought home bags (yes that was the plural form of ‘bag’) of candy from school. Then they pulled in the out of town loot from Grandma & Grandpa, who were kind enough to spend some time with us here this weekend. Then they went for Round 3 at the outdoor mall, where the store employees stood at their respective doorways handing out even more of the sweet stuff. Finally the main event tonight where they picked up the actual Trick or Treat haul – for good measure really, at that point. But it was candy, so therefore it was by nature, good.

Here’s a look at the goofballs, doing their thing this afternoon:

I had the opportunity to do something really cool this evening. I mentioned it a few days ago. Riverside Community Church hosted its annual ‘Fear Factors’ event at Dream Center Peoria. Picture an entire gymnasium filled with games, face painting, balloons…just a smörgåsbord of fun stuff for kids. Oh, and candy too. The goal was to collect 1,000 pounds of it to pass out to all of the kids attending the event. Half a ton! Anyway I got to run one of the games…and I had to smile when I found out my assignment 🙂

For those of you who don’t know, I cannot stand flying. Least favorite thing it the world to do. Only fitting that my game was ‘Plane-o-Phobia’ 😉 Had a blast with it – fear of flying and irony aside. Seeing kids smile has to be right up there on the list of things that are great in life. Last year approximately 1,000 kids came through. It’s safe to say that happened again. Amazing. So very cool. I can’t express how awesome it is to see kids happy. After having my two, I’ve never looked at the world the same way. Kids rock. So cool to have been able to be a part of tonight’s event. God is good!

Comments

