The agony of defeat

A phrase every Florida State football fan is familiar with.

Yes I’m a die-hard FSU fan. I know, it makes no sense – I’m from Illinois, never lived in Florida, didn’t go to school there, etc. But my grandparents sent me a Seminoles hat when I was like, 10 years old and I’ve been a fan ever since.

And so…the ‘Noles managed to add to the legacy of losing in grand fashion tonight. Fumbling inside the opponent’s five yard line with the wide receiver open in the end zone, ready to catch the go-ahead score with the game on the line in the last minute of the game…yeah. Brutal. Any FSU fan who’s followed the team long enough knows all too well the ‘Wide Right’ heartbreaks against Miami and various other close calls that ended up with the Seminoles having fewer points on the scoreboard at the end of the game than the opponent. But, when you’re a fan you just keep on rooting. Of course it’s hard for me not to root for them, considering that former head coach Bobby Bowden personally wrote me a letter in response to a letter I sent him, complaining about the Seminoles’ lack of closing ability after one of those Miami losses in the early 90s. I thought it was so cool that he wrote back to some random teenage kid who was criticizing his team’s effort, and he wrote back right in the middle of the season no less. It’s still really cool when I think about it.

Anyway, FSU has won two titles since I became a fan about a quarter of a century ago…hopefully they’ll win a few more before it’s all said and done. One can hope 🙂 Go get ’em next week, guys..

Comments

